Metro   City

Houston Museum District

Thank You! Your rating has been saved.

Eleven institutions formed the Houston Museum District Association on January 27, 1997 and received the IRS 501 (c) (3) designation as of August 22, 1997. Five new museums joined the District in June 2002 and two more in April 2007. The District is now comprised of the following 19 museums located within an approximate 1.5 mile radius of the Mecom Fountain in Hermann Park:

  1. Asia Society Texas Center
  2. Buffalo Soldiers National Museum
  3. Children's Museum of Houston
  4. Contemporary Arts Museum Houston
  5. Czech Center Museum Houston
  6. Holocaust Museum Houston
  7. Houston Center for Contemporary Craft
  8. Houston Center for Photography
  9. Houston Museum of Natural Science
  10. Houston Zoo, Inc.
  11. The John C. Freeman Weather Museum
  12. The Health Museum
  13. The Jung Center of Houston
  14. Lawndale Art Center
  15. The Menil Collection
  16. Museum of African American Culture Center
  17. Museum of Fine Arts , Houston
  18. Rice University Art Gallery
  19. The Rothko Chapel

Explore Related Categories

Details and Specs

Hours of Operation: Not Listed
Notes: None Listed


Be the first to add a review for this item.

Please write a review for this item

Send a Message